09 – TOMORROW CITY

Subterranean Venice

I imagined the city of Venice in a century’s time, on a plane beneath its current canal-surface level. From this perspective, the new, bioluminescent city spreads out beneath its historic buildings, providing new foundations...

Metz

To celebrate the 150th anniversary of its Botanical Gardens, Metz, one of France’s greenest cities, asked me to portray in drawings what the city would look like 150 years from now. Once again, I...

Brussels

How will existing cities evolve?  Brussels, a small capital which has become a European headquarter, is a perfect case study of a city that has had to transform under the pressure of new needs. ...

Louvain-la-Neuve

500 years ago, Thomas More published his famous book UTOPIA through a printer in Louvain. To celebrate this momentous event, the academic authorities of Louvain-la-Neuve, university town in Walloon Brabant, have decided to mark...

Genève

The city, projected into a sustainable future has lost a lot of its tower blocks, made banal by the reductionist regulations of globalization.  Everywhere, new green buildings have appeared, forming a curving landscape.  Areas...

Laeken evolution

The streets and terraced houses in this quarter of Brussels are an ideal way of telling the story of the evolution of the city through images.  In order to have an idea for future...

Resilient city

All of our big cities will have an autonomous supply of a week’s worth of food.  When the roads are blocked and transport cannot pass, what will happen in the following weeks?  Never, in...

Strasbourg

Desirous of preserving the beautiful harmony of inner-city Strasbourg, Luc Schuiten imagines very few changes to the historic centre, apart from the installation of a second tower for the cathedral. The biggest changes are...

Shanghai

In Shanghai, even more than elsewhere, mutation of the city is permanent. Never still, the metropolis moves inexorably at high speed toward its future. I wanted to represent in one overview the different mutations...

Lyon 2100

At the same time as the Musée des Confluences in Lyon invited me to put on an exhibition of my work in La Sucrière contemporary arts centre, I was also entrusted with a task:...

Brussels

If we look at them in the light of sustainable development, these archiborescent projects are not intended to destroy our existing heritage. On the contrary, they symbolise the integration of new thinking into the...

Nantes

When the city of Nantes invited him to attend the Utopiales in 2007, Luc Schuiten took the opportunity to show his work on archiborescence. This exhibition was publicised in the city by posters with...

09 – LA VILLE DE DEMAIN

Venice underground

À partir du siècle prochain, j’ai imaginé la ville de Venise dans une extension sous son niveau actuel de la surface des canaux. Dans cette perspective, la nouvelle ville bioluminescente s’étend sous les bâtiments...

Metz

À l’occasion des 150 ans du Jardin Botanique, la municipalité de Metz, l’une des villes les plus vertes de France, m’a invité à imaginer, par le dessin, les 150 ans à venir de la...

Bruxelles

Comment évolueront les villes existantes? Bruxelles, petite capitale devenue un siège européen, offre un beau cas de ville qui a dû se transformer sous la pression de nouveaux besoins. Dans un siècle, elle aura...

Louvain-la-Neuve

Il y a 500 ans, Tomas More publiait son fameux livre UTOPIA chez un imprimeur de Louvain. Pour commémorer cet événement emblématique, les autorités académiques de Louvain-la-Neuve, ville universitaire du Brabant wallon, ont décidé...

Genève

La ville projetée dans un futur durable a perdu une grande quantité de ses immeubles-boîtes, banalisés sur les normes réductrices de la mondialisation. Partout, de nouveaux édifices verts sont apparus, formant un paysage tout...

Evolution de Laeken

Les rues et ses maisons mitoyennes de ce quartier de Bruxelles constituent une trame souple et évolutive idéale pour narrer par l’image l’évolution de la ville. Pour pouvoir se faire une idée du développement...

La ville résiliente

Toute nos grandes villes disposent d’une autonomie alimentaire de l’ordre d’une semaine. Quand le blocage est général, que plus aucun transport ne circule, que fait on les semaines suivantes ? Jamais dans toute l’histoire...

Strasbourg

Soucieux de préserver la belle harmonie de Strasbourg intra-muros, Luc Schuiten envisage très peu de modifications sur le centre historique, hormis l’érection de la deuxième tour de la cathédrale. Les grands bouleversements se situent...

Shanghai

A Shanghai, encore bien plus qu’ailleurs, la mutation de la ville est permanente. Jamais immobile, la mégapole avance inexorablement à grande vitesse vers son avenir. La plupart des créations graphiques, picturales, photographiques que nous...

Colmar

Luc Schuiten était l’invité d’honneur en 2012 de la foire éco-bio d’Alsace. A cette occasion, les organisateurs ont programmés une conférence, une exposition et la création d’une affiche évoquant le développement futur de cette...

Sao Paulo

Suite à la visite d’une délégation de la préfecture de Sao Paulo à l’exposition « la cité végétale de Luc Schuiten  » à Lyon, celui-ci fut invité dans la mégapole brésilienne à proposer la création...

Lyon en 2100

Invité par le Musée des Confluences de Lyon pour exposer mes travaux à la Sucrière, je me suis vu confier, dans le même temps, une mission : réfléchir au devenir de cette ville et...

Bruxelles

Dans l’optique du développement durable, ces perspectives archiborescentes ne proposent pas la destruction du patrimoine existant mais sont, au contraire, la projection d’une intégration de pensées neuves dans l’histoire urbaine et dans la continuité...

Nantes

Invité par la ville de Nantes aux Utopiales en 2007, Luc Schuiten y présentait son travail sur l’archiborescence. Cette exposition était marquée dans la ville par la présence de grandes affiches offrant le panorama...